top of page
  • Writer's pictureHealth Mentors

Mmmm! Beat the sugar cravings!

Ever woke up in the morning, had your caffeine shot (coffee/tea/diet coke) and all you wanted to eat was a warm chocolate brownie?  Well, I know that feeling well.  


I have fought with my weight all of my life and, especially in my teens and twenties when I felt very alone, I turned to sugary foods for comfort - warm cinnamon rolls, multi-layered sponge cake, chocolate chip cookies to name but a few.


In my mid life, I realised that my health was more important than my cravings, but that didn’t make them go away.  When my husband and I decided to change our lifestyle by losing weight and keeping fit, I discovered that the best way to beat the sugar cravings was to eat in a high fat low carb manner.

So, in a nutshell, if you eat healthy high fat foods (eggs, avocado, nuts, seeds) it will keep you full for a long time.  There is no magic secret and there is no way that you can have your cake and it eat too! However, if you consider the health benefits of eating whole foods, its worth it.


Of course, I still like a cup of black coffee in the mornings and I do succumb to a warm chocolate brownie every now and again - I’m only human after all!  But 95% of the time I keep a high fat and low carb way of eating.  Its amazing how much you can eat and lose weight eating like this!


bottom of page